Funny Friday (2) “Down with this sort of thing!” (careful now)

If I’d thought about it, I would probably have started with this, seeing as I’ve put the picture from the scene on the front page of the blog. But better late than never, eh?

Before seeing all the episodes on 4OD earlier this year, I’d only watched the Father Ted Christmas special, with its wonderful Lingerie Section skit. I never found it laugh-out-loud funny, but I always seem to be giggling to myself because I’m weird of something I remember from Father Ted. “Down with this sort of thing!” is one of those bits.

It’s probably obvious why I’ve put the photo on the sidebar. After all, as lefties we often seem to end up spouting variations on the theme of “Down with this sort of thing!” As Jill Swinburne, the environmentalist in The Beiderbecke Affair, says when asked if her party is against police harrassment: “Oh, we’re against it. We’re against practically everything.” It sums up a certain strain of political, not just left-wing, thought.

It also makes a good point about the futility of protesting about books, plays and ‘this sort of thing’. Creating a huge clamour for a book/play/song to be banned just creates a lot of publicity that said book etc would not have got otherwise. Maybe if the protesters against Behzti in 2004 had watched Father Ted, we would have had no death threats, no writer forced to go into hiding, and the world would be a better place. Maybe.

This entry was posted in Amusing asides and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

